Established as the showcase event for the under-140 character generation, the Shorty Awards recognizes the top producers in social media every year for categories such as #Actor, #Celebrity, #Photography, #SportsTeam, #TVShow, and #YouTubeStar, as well as industry awards such as “Best Overall Brand Presence on Facebook” and “Best Social Media Agency.”

This year marked the 5th edition of the event, which was held earlier this month at the Times Center in New York, and was hosted by actress and internet celebrity Felicia Day.

A Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Jimmy Kimmel, and First Lady Michelle Obama was given a special #GIFStar award for being the subject of a number of animated GIF’s that went viral over the past year.

The First Lady (@FLOTUS) kept with the theme of the night by limiting even her acceptance speech to 140 characters, thanking the Shorty Awards via her Twitter account and attributing her online fame to staying physically active.


However, Michelle Obama was not the only government entity with a presence at the awards show. The official Twitter feed of NASA, (@NASA) took home its second straight #Government award, as well as receiving the Foursquare Mayor of the Year award for the Mars rover “Curiosity” account (@MarsCuriosity). The rover has been checking in on the Foursquare mobile application during its Mars expedition, allowing followers to track the robot’s journey.

“Our success stems from inspiring content that connects with people,” said NASA’s associate administrator for communications, David Weaver, on the website. “Our story of science and innovation resonates with everyone. Social media enables us to reach people directly like never before.”

Also in internet awards news this month, the 17th annual Webby Awards announced its nominees on Tuesday. A range of everything from Jerry Seinfeld to Dollar Shave Club are up for awards, which will be voted on by the public until April 25th, and the ceremony will be held on May 21st at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. A full list of nominees can be found here.